byuu's message board

For discussion of projects related to www.byuu.org/
Last visit was: Sun 15 Mar 2015, 01:00:45 It is currently Sun 15 Mar 2015, 12:16:47




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 175 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 12  Next
Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 04:37:56

Posts: 502
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Still lurking more in there.


Tue 15 Apr 2014, 18:21:21
Report this post
Profile Send private message
Screw y'all
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Dec 2010, 08:27:37

Posts: 1147
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
wareya wrote:
This guy speaks in such a way that he has got to be sincere, and if he's not, then he's confused as hell.

No, I'm pretty sure he's sincere AND confused as hell.

_________________
CaptainJistuce wrote:
Well, the world used to run at 30 FPS until YouTube got 60 FPS support.
It's only recently that we've been able to see 60 FPS at all, and we should thank the Google for it.


Tue 15 Apr 2014, 18:23:32
Report this post
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Apr 2009, 08:11:50

Posts: 5266
Location: 日本
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Covarr wrote:
wareya wrote:
This guy speaks in such a way that he has got to be sincere, and if he's not, then he's confused as hell.

No, I'm pretty sure he's sincere AND confused as hell.

I think there's a pretty big difference between being confused and a moron.

_________________
CaptainJistuce: He's totally in the wrong, Kakashi's 100% in the right.
Note: The above statement is subject to act of byuu.


Wed 16 Apr 2014, 02:06:23
Report this post
Profile Send private message

Joined: Wed 06 May 2009, 04:13:19

Posts: 4543
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Kakashi wrote:
Covarr wrote:
wareya wrote:
This guy speaks in such a way that he has got to be sincere, and if he's not, then he's confused as hell.

No, I'm pretty sure he's sincere AND confused as hell.

I think there's a pretty big difference between being confused and a moron.

The latter often causes the former.

_________________
This post best viewed at 800x600
;write ! ! !


Wed 16 Apr 2014, 02:09:47
Report this post
Profile Send private message
Screw y'all
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Dec 2010, 08:27:37

Posts: 1147
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Kakashi wrote:
Covarr wrote:
wareya wrote:
This guy speaks in such a way that he has got to be sincere, and if he's not, then he's confused as hell.

No, I'm pretty sure he's sincere AND confused as hell.

I think there's a pretty big difference between being confused and a moron.

They're not mutually exclusive.

_________________
CaptainJistuce wrote:
Well, the world used to run at 30 FPS until YouTube got 60 FPS support.
It's only recently that we've been able to see 60 FPS at all, and we should thank the Google for it.


Wed 16 Apr 2014, 04:34:41
Report this post
Profile Send private message

Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 11:55:03

Posts: 72
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
wareya wrote:
The whole point of my wall of text is that the original resolution in which a 3D game is rendered MATTERS. It's OBJECTIVE. There is no "the resolution doesn't really matter!" -- it DOES matter. There are things that can directly depend on the very specific resolution the original game hardware expects. Yes, there are PC games with arbitrary resolution support (the majority of them even) but NO, CONSOLE GAMES DO NOT TEND TO PLAY WELL WITH ARBITRARY RESOLUTION.

Even if it's just minor glitches, like the edges of a sprite rolling over to another part of the spritesheet, or some piece of geometry not lining up with another, THE GLITCHES ARE, WILL BE, AND MUST BE THERE to render the game at a resolution it's not meant to be rendered at.

A HUGE part of the point of console games is that devs only need to target a small set of resolutions, framerates, hardware behavior, etc. They WILL abuse this privilege and make things that only work perfectly on the console itself, because that's totally legitimate! That's the whole point of "Accurate" emulation. That's the whole point of making a distinction between "vanilla" and "enhancement" behavior.

I dont care about opinion of this forum dwellers. But okay prove what glitches in what emulators higher resolution is causing and this glitches are caused by resolution and not bugs in emulators which can be fixed.


Thu 01 May 2014, 02:13:56
Report this post
Profile Send private message

Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 11:55:03

Posts: 72
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Kakashi wrote:
wareya wrote:
This guy speaks in such a way that he has got to be sincere, and if he's not, then he's confused as hell.

No, I'm pretty sure he's sincere AND confused as hell.

I think there's a pretty big difference between being confused and a moron.[/quote]
They're not mutually exclusive.[/quote]
So you have no arguments except insults .


Thu 01 May 2014, 02:25:54
Report this post
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 04:37:56

Posts: 502
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
https://copy.com/p3gUh67sAfpVHyoY
Distortion on the logo due to logo being chopped into chunks in the original game to save texture cache. Not visible on real hardware because of polygon edge precision. Not avoidable because the individual polygons don't have any "rollover" data. Allowing nearest neighbor filtering defeats the purpose of using a higher rendering resolution.

https://copy.com/2L4gBni8EIAWKk0J
Text hard to read because of texture edges and sub-texture edges. Forcing nearest neighbor filtering is workable but not accurate to what the game is asking the hardware to do.

https://copy.com/ScEkFWNh3gTStWQw
Visible garbage on text edges because of polygon edge rollover. Not visible on real hardware because of polygon edge precision. Also note the seams on the item grid.

And this shit's just off the top of my head. If I REALLY wanted, I could find something totally gamebreaking, like this one part of disgaea.

None of these are emulator bugs. These are all caused by the way in which the original game is generating the geometry for the emulator to render. To fix these bugs would be a hack in itself.


Thu 01 May 2014, 02:33:00
Report this post
Profile Send private message

Joined: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 05:42:15

Posts: 2564
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
The Nintendo DS is a computer but it is not just like a PC running Windows. You can't just go to control panel and change the resolution. The games and hardware do not support any other resolution; clever hacks are used to make it run that way, and those hacks will affect other things. It is far more complicated than you realize.

_________________
"It's easy to win forgiveness for being wrong; being right is what gets you into real trouble." --Bjarne Stroustrup


Thu 01 May 2014, 03:07:27
Report this post
Profile Send private message WWW

Joined: Wed 06 May 2009, 04:13:19

Posts: 4543
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Monochrome1 wrote:
So you have no arguments except insults .

4 pages of arguments, two posts of insults, and we have no arguments but insults?

_________________
This post best viewed at 800x600
;write ! ! !


Thu 01 May 2014, 03:25:04
Report this post
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 18:53:03

Posts: 424
Location: Somewhere, Texas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
And somewhat related, even 2D graphics can be messed up by hi res enhancements. If you allow filtering to try to make the pre-rendered backgrounds in games like FF7 look nicer at the higher resolutions you get ugly, usually green, gaps between sections due to the loss of edge precision.

_________________
I didn't do it, nobody saw me do it, you can't prove anything.


Thu 01 May 2014, 11:10:12
Report this post
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Sun 05 Sep 2010, 15:42:48

Posts: 1344
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
shadowinthelight wrote:
And somewhat related, even 2D graphics can be messed up by hi res enhancements. If you allow filtering to try to make the pre-rendered backgrounds in games like FF7 look nicer at the higher resolutions you get ugly, usually green, gaps between sections due to the loss of edge precision.
Do you have a visual example of this phenomenon? Personally, I accept actual screenshots, mockups, and MasterCard.

_________________
http://helmet.kafuka.org


Thu 01 May 2014, 13:32:51
Report this post
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Fri 10 Apr 2009, 16:38:15

Posts: 2512
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Kawa wrote:
Do you have a visual example of this phenomenon? Personally, I accept actual screenshots, mockups, and MasterCard.

I can't find a screenshot of this on Google Image, but I remember this happened with the PC version if you enabled.. I think it was anti-aliasing. Either that or anisotropic filtering. Nowadays you can just use Aali's custom driver which should work much better than the original port in general (though there may be bugs, of course). But maybe it happens on the PS1 version as well?


Thu 01 May 2014, 13:45:57
Report this post
Profile Send private message

Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 11:55:03

Posts: 72
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
wareya wrote:
https://copy.com/p3gUh67sAfpVHyoY
Distortion on the logo due to logo being chopped into chunks in the original game to save texture cache. Not visible on real hardware because of polygon edge precision. Not avoidable because the individual polygons don't have any "rollover" data. Allowing nearest neighbor filtering defeats the purpose of using a higher rendering resolution.

https://copy.com/2L4gBni8EIAWKk0J
Text hard to read because of texture edges and sub-texture edges. Forcing nearest neighbor filtering is workable but not accurate to what the game is asking the hardware to do.

https://copy.com/ScEkFWNh3gTStWQw
Visible garbage on text edges because of polygon edge rollover. Not visible on real hardware because of polygon edge precision. Also note the seams on the item grid.

And this shit's just off the top of my head. If I REALLY wanted, I could find something totally gamebreaking, like this one part of disgaea.

None of these are emulator bugs. These are all caused by the way in which the original game is generating the geometry for the emulator to render. To fix these bugs would be a hack in itself.

First two look fine to me and dont you have better examples than ancient outdated emulator like Nemu64. Dark Cloud 2 text could be result of plugin bugs,GSDX is not exactly bug free. Even if fixing these bugs would be hacks it means nothing if result is same as perfect emulation and even HLE can give exactly same results as Cycle-accurate LLE if its done good enough.


Thu 01 May 2014, 17:52:32
Report this post
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2012, 04:37:56

Posts: 502
Reply with quote
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
LOL
I give up
you have *NO* idea what you're talking about, refuting evidence based on assumption and pretense
I'm not even going to bother to explain, you're just being a bigot
fuck off


Thu 01 May 2014, 18:11:16
Report this post
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 175 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 12  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: