byuu's message board

For discussion of projects related to www.byuu.org/


Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sun 05 Sep 2010, 15:42:48

Posts: 1344
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
creaothceann wrote:
Why is this happening though? Either the texture replacement is defective, or it's incomplete.
Framebuffer emulation is disabled, if my own experiences with N64 emulation are any indication.
Covarr wrote:
I would've liked ito show an example that actually showed shit on the Mario Kart screen
as well as the background in OoT pause screen
but this was the best I could do with a quick google images search

_________________
http://helmet.kafuka.org

Sun 06 Jul 2014, 21:02:29
Screw y'all
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Dec 2010, 08:27:37

Posts: 1147
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
creaothceann wrote:
Why is this happening though? Either the texture replacement is defective, or it's incomplete.

I just grabbed a screenshot off Google Images, because it happened to show the area of the game I was referring to. Perhaps I should've searched harder to find one either properly emulated, or from real hardware, as well as a better explanation what I mean.

Framebuffer emulation is indeed totally disabled or not working properly in the shot I found before, so here's a better one I took myself.

Image

My point is, if you give the game's framebuffer one texture and the final output another, that screen over the tunnel will show the original regardless. If you give the framebuffer a 240p render of the screen and the final output a high-res render, fullscreen framebuffer effects will display at the lower resolution regardless.

In cases like these, if you're attempting to enhance the game, it really is preferable to just give it the wrong framebuffer in the first place. Accuracy has its place in the world, but enhancements really do give a better experience when applied consistently across the board.

_________________
CaptainJistuce wrote:
Well, the world used to run at 30 FPS until YouTube got 60 FPS support.
It's only recently that we've been able to see 60 FPS at all, and we should thank the Google for it.

Sun 06 Jul 2014, 21:35:48

Joined: Fri 10 Apr 2009, 15:00:08

Posts: 13668
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
> I'm not sure what you mean by IIR.

Infinite input response.

The idea would be that you render a hires, texture-pack framebuffer off to the side (obviously it can't exist in actual N64 memory space due to its larger size and because you don't want it read anyway.) When the game goes to say, "draw the framebuffer to the screen at these coordinates", you actually use the hires version.

The new screen will have the hires Mario Kart track, and a hires screen capture of the track on the display monitor. Obviously scaled down, but presumably still sharper looking, especially if you are running on a 4K display and the little monitor alone is 640x480+.

Obviously if the game starts writing raw pixels into that frame buffer before displaying it, then you're kind of fucked there.

This is much like the idea of using cubic interpolation for SNES audio. It has an echo buffer that mixes in previous samples, and the game can read out that buffer. So you could keep a cubic echo buffer and a gaussian echo buffer, but each time a sound repeats, the repeated sound with the current sound are mixed in, hence IIR.

Like looking into a mirror inside a mirror image, it repeats infinitely until the difference is too small to be noticeable.

I don't see any potential problems with having an extra cubic buffer, or an extra hires framebuffer, so long as the game doesn't actually *write* to the raw contents of said buffers. But, yeah, maybe there's a reason it won't work.

> In cases like these, if you're attempting to enhance the game, it really is preferable to just give it the wrong framebuffer in the first place. Accuracy has its place in the world, but enhancements really do give a better experience when applied consistently across the board.

Reminds me of HQ2x on 2D. You can see it falsely blending sprites with background tiles all the time. So the obvious thought is, "make each layer render in ARGB and blend them together!", but then you run into problems with games that use multiple layers to display a cohesive image with more colors than is ordinarily allowed, or with some kind of cute tile-offset effects applied. So you think to have per-game blending rules for layer cohesion, but then it varies based on certain scenes within the same games.

The more you try and hammer down the edge cases, the more extreme edge cases pop up.

Sun 06 Jul 2014, 22:15:46

Joined: Tue 31 May 2011, 22:39:35

Posts: 348
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
byuu wrote:
The more you try and hammer down the edge cases, the more extreme edge cases pop up.


Yep, and eventually arrive at the point where every game has it's own special set of fixes, and enhancements working in their own unique ways. Which can give great results, and improve the experience immensely.

However, then you run into another argument over accuracy. Is your new enhanced version still in the same spirit/vision of the original?
I generally can't stand texture packs (n64, PC, or whatever) for that exact reason. The original artists (with QA people help) often went through and hand tweaked textures so everything looks like it belongs, or at least doesn't look weird. That often gets lost when you replace them with "improved" versions, or goes completely weird when a small part of a huge texture is used "out of place" because no one playing would know better. This makes the game feel way different, and I don't end up liking it as much. It might be better to someone who hasn't played the game before, but to me it's hideously inaccurate and spoils it.

Mon 07 Jul 2014, 01:42:09
User avatar

Joined: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 03:22:14

Posts: 957
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
noiii wrote:
I generally can't stand texture packs (n64, PC, or whatever) for that exact reason. The original artists (with QA people help) often went through and hand tweaked textures so everything looks like it belongs, or at least doesn't look weird.

Generally, I agree, with one exception: Minecraft's default textures are hideously amateurish, and the game looks much better when a good third-party texture pack like Painterly Pack is applied. (I get the feeling the developers agree, given the presence of a "Resource Packs" button right there on the main menu.)

_________________
rusted logic - horribly outdated since 1998 :(

Mon 07 Jul 2014, 02:36:24
Screw y'all
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Dec 2010, 08:27:37

Posts: 1147
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
[quote="noiii"That often gets lost when you replace them with "improved" versions, or goes completely weird when a small part of a huge texture is used "out of place" because no one playing would know better. This makes the game feel way different, and I don't end up liking it as much.[/quote]
This isn't a problem inherent to texture packs, but certainly common among them. A skilled modder can absolutely get this right, they just generally don't.

_________________
CaptainJistuce wrote:
Well, the world used to run at 30 FPS until YouTube got 60 FPS support.
It's only recently that we've been able to see 60 FPS at all, and we should thank the Google for it.

Mon 07 Jul 2014, 02:40:40

Joined: Tue 31 May 2011, 22:39:35

Posts: 348
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Covarr wrote:
This isn't a problem inherent to texture packs, but certainly common among them. A skilled modder can absolutely get this right, they just generally don't.


Of course, of course. There are very much texture packs that can improve a game. However, once you get into the territory of replacing assets (even if you're just doing some sort of up scaling/filtering) accuracy goes directly out the window.
If the result is better or not is obviously subjective, but maintaining the exact same look/tone throughout literally 100% of the whole game, is effectively impossible. And now you're into a completely separate (and parallel) argument of what is "accurate enough". You are into a territory that makes the differences of unfiltered and HQ2x look unnoticeable.

Mon 07 Jul 2014, 04:35:39

Joined: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 01:26:03

Posts: 1983
Location: Australia
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
Can someone convert the absurdly large images to links, or just delete them from the quotes so that the thread isn't so... awful to read?

_________________
Computer specifications:
Windows 7 x64|Intel Core i7 @ 2.66GHZ|ASUS P6T Motherboard|6 gigabytes DDR3 1600 RAM|2x500GB SATA2 HDD|2TB SATA3 HDD|Auzentech XFI Forte S/C|Nvidia Geforce 560GTS Ti 2048MB PCI-E|Corsair AX760 Power Supply|Thermaltake Armor+ MX case


Franpa


Tue 08 Jul 2014, 14:59:18
User avatar

Joined: Sun 05 Sep 2010, 15:42:48

Posts: 1344
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
noiii wrote:
However, once you get into the territory of replacing assets (even if you're just doing some sort of up scaling/filtering) accuracy goes directly out the window.
Texture packs would be a high-impact enhancement, basically.

_________________
http://helmet.kafuka.org

Tue 08 Jul 2014, 15:02:00

Joined: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 01:26:03

Posts: 1983
Location: Australia
Post Re: Desmume X432R with option to increase internal resolution
noiii wrote:
Covarr wrote:
This isn't a problem inherent to texture packs, but certainly common among them. A skilled modder can absolutely get this right, they just generally don't.


Of course, of course. There are very much texture packs that can improve a game. However, once you get into the territory of replacing assets (even if you're just doing some sort of up scaling/filtering) accuracy goes directly out the window.
If the result is better or not is obviously subjective, but maintaining the exact same look/tone throughout literally 100% of the whole game, is effectively impossible.

I'd agree, but then, well... there is the Quake Retexturing Project.

_________________
Computer specifications:
Windows 7 x64|Intel Core i7 @ 2.66GHZ|ASUS P6T Motherboard|6 gigabytes DDR3 1600 RAM|2x500GB SATA2 HDD|2TB SATA3 HDD|Auzentech XFI Forte S/C|Nvidia Geforce 560GTS Ti 2048MB PCI-E|Corsair AX760 Power Supply|Thermaltake Armor+ MX case

Tue 08 Jul 2014, 15:19:23
Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum