1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 16  Next
higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM 
Author Message

Joined: 2017-03-09 17:16
Posts: 38
 higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Here are current updates for various 128kb of vram projects for the snes.

Mega man x v1.1 patch for 128kb of vram (4-4-2018)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/aokk8ly2ba1ez5c/mega_man_x_v1.1_128kb_vram.rar

hex-usr's nSide star-rod snes debugger updated for debugging 128kb of vram (4-4-2018)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/7ysflggpk9e2715/nSide_v009r16__%28128kb_vram_v0.2%29_-_exe.rar

https://www.mediafire.com/file/0lzq1yp7wxc42nm/nSide_v009r16__%28128kb_vram_v0.2%29_-_source.rar


___________________________________________________________________
1st post:

I was trying to play around with this to see if I could get it to work but I'm not having
any luck. I tried doubling the value of video.ram in the manifest.bml, I have the 2101
register set to (0x24) load tile base 1 and 2 from 0x10000, and I'm storing my vram
data at 0x8000. Tile base 1, 2 and my vram data that I'm storing all point to 0x0
instead of 0x10000. I can't find any documents on how to set up this hidden option
in higan. Can somebody help point me in the right direction on how to do this?

_________________
"snes2 = (super nintendo | msu-1 | 128kb vram)" - [J]


2017-03-14 22:43
User avatar

Joined: 2014-09-27 09:21
Posts: 1550
Location: 日本
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Did this hidden option ever exist?

_________________
CaptainJistuce: He's totally in the wrong, Kakashi's 100% in the right.
Note: The above statement is subject to act of byuu.


2017-03-15 05:53
User avatar

Joined: 2014-09-25 13:52
Posts: 8294
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Yes, it's there. Changing manifest.bml for Super Famicom.sys is all that's needed.

Can't help with how to write SNES ASM code to use it, though. But it should be straight-forward.

_________________
What the hell's going on? Can someone tell me please?
Why I'm switching faster than the channels on TV.
I'm black, then I'm white. No, something isn't right.
My enemy's invisible, I don't know how to fight.


2017-03-15 05:59

Joined: 2017-03-09 17:16
Posts: 38
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
I think I'm not setting up the manifest.bml correctly. Can you explain how to properly set
up the manifest.bml for this? I can handle all of the asm I just don't think I have higan set
up correctly for this new option. I'm also using v101. Do all versions of higan after v100
have this option?

I think having 2 times the vram for the snes is huge and I am quite surprised that nobody
is talking about using this.

_________________
"snes2 = (super nintendo | msu-1 | 128kb vram)" - [J]


2017-03-15 07:03
User avatar

Joined: 2014-09-27 09:21
Posts: 1550
Location: 日本
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Why don't you post your manifest? That would make it easier.

_________________
CaptainJistuce: He's totally in the wrong, Kakashi's 100% in the right.
Note: The above statement is subject to act of byuu.


2017-03-15 09:02
User avatar

Joined: 2014-09-27 09:23
Posts: 2201
Location: Germany
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
[J] wrote:
I think having 2 times the vram for the snes is huge and I am quite surprised that nobody is talking about using this.

https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=14465

_________________
My setup:
Super Famicom ("2/1/3" SNS-CPU-GPM-02) → Multi Out to SCART cable → EuroSCART to Mini cable → Framemeister (with Firebrandx' profiles) → AVerMedia Live Gamer Extreme capture unit → RECentral 4 viewing/recording software


2017-03-15 09:49

Joined: 2017-03-09 17:16
Posts: 38
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Kakashi wrote:
Why don't you post your manifest@ That would make it easier.

system region=auto name:Super Famicom
cpu version=2
ram name=work.ram size=0x20000 volatile
smp
rom name=ipl.rom size=64
ppu1 version=1
ram name=video.ram size=0x8000 volatile
ram name=object.ram size=544 volatile
ppu2 version=3
ram name=palette.ram size=512 volatile
dsp
ram name=apu.ram size=0x20000 volatile

The line I tried changing was: ram name=video.ram size=0x8000 volatile
I changed the 0x8000 to 0x10000. All I did was double that value. I'm not sure if that is the
correct way to set up higan for 128kb vram.

I also tried changing this line: rom name=ipl.rom size=64
I changed the 64 to128. And it didn't work ether.

creaothceann wrote:
[J] wrote:
I think having 2 times the vram for the snes is huge and I am quite surprised that nobody is talking about using this.

https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=14465

I have seen this before but unfortunately it seems like nobody has got it working on real
hardware. The only way to have this working is through higan. If someone does know
how to do this on real hardware then please let me know how because I would also like
to mod my super nintendo for that as well.

_________________
"snes2 = (super nintendo | msu-1 | 128kb vram)" - [J]


2017-03-15 15:23
User avatar

Joined: 2014-09-27 09:23
Posts: 2201
Location: Germany
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Doubling the size of the IPL ROM doesn't make any sense...

_________________
My setup:
Super Famicom ("2/1/3" SNS-CPU-GPM-02) → Multi Out to SCART cable → EuroSCART to Mini cable → Framemeister (with Firebrandx' profiles) → AVerMedia Live Gamer Extreme capture unit → RECentral 4 viewing/recording software


2017-03-15 16:07

Joined: 2017-03-09 17:16
Posts: 38
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
Didn't make any sense to me ether but I still tried it. It seems like just
double the video.ram and it should work.

byuu wrote:
Yes, it's there. Changing manifest.bml for Super Famicom.sys is all that's needed.

Can't help with how to write SNES ASM code to use it, though. But it should be straight-forward.

What is the correct way to set up the manifest.bml for 128kb vram?

_________________
"snes2 = (super nintendo | msu-1 | 128kb vram)" - [J]


2017-03-15 16:12
User avatar

Joined: 2014-09-25 13:52
Posts: 8294
 Re: higan v100 hidden option to experiment with 128KB VRAM
That's all you have to do is change that one line.

_________________
What the hell's going on? Can someone tell me please?
Why I'm switching faster than the channels on TV.
I'm black, then I'm white. No, something isn't right.
My enemy's invisible, I don't know how to fight.


2017-03-15 17:21
1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 16  Next